New Furnaces for the ift technology centre

Date: 11.10.2017 | ID: PI171059 | Download: New Furnaces for the ift technology centre PI171059 (PDF) | Author(s): Jürgen Benitz-Wildenburg


With three additional furnaces, all fire tests are now possible

With effect from July 2017, a large number of fire resistance tests and smoke tests have been conducted on doors, gates, facades, glazing or fire safety curtains in the technology centre – and, as a matter of fact, in accordance with German, European and international regulations. Apart from the 8 x 5 metre large furnace, even the proven 5 x 5 metre furnace from Nuremberg is now operational again. Starting from the beginning of 2018, two more furnaces will be added for load-bearing pillars, ceiling beams and floor structures as well as one small furnace. Together with the durability and smoke test rigs, manufacturers also receive all necessary tests and certificates for reaction to fire, fire resistance, smoke control as well as spreading of fire – from a single source. Based on the cooperation with the internationally popular fire specialists UL, the slogan "Tested in Rosenheim – certified for the world" applies.

 

All over the world, fire safety and smoke control are important requirements for structures, especially for buildings in which larger gatherings of human beings are expected. This includes larger residential constructions just as much as public buildings, sports and production facilities. Those who offer windows, doors, gates, facades and construction materials for such structures, generally also find requirements for reaction to fire, fire resistance and smoke control in the specifications (Bill of Quantities). If the manufacturer cannot supply the required verifications, there is generally the likelihood of being excluded from the contract award procedure.

This is why internationally recognised tests and certificates are of great significance for the manufacturer. Hence, ift Rosenheim has inaugurated a new fire safety centre in 2016, designed for fast and efficient testing. All necessary fire tests as well as smoke control and durability tests can be carried out. "Building block boxes" and professional logistics facilitate efficient and economical set-up of the test specimens. The close cooperation of UL with ift experts in conjunction with comprehensive testing capacities at Rosenheim offers manufacturers not only easy coordination for tests, but also for verifications and certifications for European and international markets.

 

To consolidate the options and facilities for testing, the fire safety centre is now being further expanded and supplemented by the neighbouring UL laboratory. The following five furnaces will be available by March 2018.

 

1+2: Testing the fire resistance of walls, doors, fire protection systems, facades etc. in the dimensional (W x H: 8 m x 5 m as well as 5 m x 5 m),

3:     Combination test rig for load-bearing bars, roofs, dampers, ventilation ducts as well as pipe claddings with a load imposed by 16 cylinders of 5 tonnes each in the dimensional (W x H x D: 4.0 m x 5.0 m x 2.5 m),

4:     Testing of load-bearing and non-load bearing supports up to a load of 500 tonnes in the dimensional (W x H x D: 3 m x 3.2 m x 3 m),

5:     Testing of reaction to fire in accordance with DIN 4102-2 and EN 1363/1 in the dimensional (W x H x D: 1.5 m x 1.5 m x 2 m).

 

The furnaces and controllers are designed, erected and calibrated by the ift subsidiary "MessTec". Modern furnaces are constructed with the help of comprehensive know-how in programming, instrumentation, electronics and furnace building, with which you can achieve different temperature curves, for example, according to STC, ISO 834, HC, RWS and UL 1709. All burners can be controlled independently such that even unique fire situations can be adjusted and emulated.

 

In addition, there will also be two smoke control (5 m x 5 m und 3.5 m x 3.5 m) and one smoke tight test rig (10 m x 7 m)) as well as durability test rigs with sizes up to 9 m x 5 m. With this, the ift fire safety centre is one of the most modern laboratory systems in the world so that better justice gets done to the slogan "Tested in Rosenheim – certified for the world".

Legal note for use: The contents are freely available when mentioning the source ‘Information of ift Rosenheim’ and can be used without a license for communication in media and business. Please send us a specimen copy as publication or as PDF-file via email to the editorial contact.

Neue Brandöfen im ift-Technologiezentrum (TZ)

Datum: 24.10.2017 | ID: PI171058 | Download: Neue Brandöfen im ift-Technologiezentrum (TZ) PI171058 (PDF) | Autor(en): Jürgen Benitz-Wildenburg


Drei weitere Brandöfen ermöglichen nun alle Brandprüfungen

Seit Juli 2017 ist im ift-Technologiezentrum eine Vielzahl von Brand- und Rauchprüfungen an Türen, Toren, Fassaden, Verglasungen und Brandschutzvorhängen durchgeführt worden – und zwar nach deutschen, europäischen und internationalen Regeln. Neben dem 8 x 5 Meter großen Brandofen ist nun auch der bewährte 5 x 5 Meter Ofen aus Nürnberg wieder in Betrieb. Ab Anfang 2018 kommen dann zwei Öfen für tragende Säulen, Deckenträger und Bodenkonstruktionen sowie ein Kleinbrandofen hinzu. Zusammen mit den Dauerfunktions- und Rauchprüfständen erhalten Hersteller damit alle notwendigen Prüfungen und Zertifikate für Brandverhalten, Feuerwiderstand, Rauchdichtigkeit sowie Brandweiterleitung aus einer Hand. Durch die Kooperation mit dem weltweit bekannten Brandspezialisten UL gilt das Motto „Geprüft in Rosenheim – zertifiziert für die Welt“.

 

Weltweit sind der Brand- und Rauchschutz wichtige Anforderungen an Bauwerke, insbesondere bei Gebäuden, bei denen größere Menschenansammlungen zu erwarten sind. Hierzu zählen größere Wohnbauten genauso wie öffentliche Gebäude, Sport- oder Produktionsstätten. Wer für solche Bauwerke Fenster, Türen, Tore, Fassaden oder Baustoffe anbietet, findet in der Leistungsbeschreibung meistens auch Anforderungen an Brandverhalten, Feuerwiderstand und Rauchdichtheit. Wenn der Hersteller die geforderten Nachweise nicht liefern kann, droht in der Regel ein Ausschluss vom Vergabeverfahren.

 

Deshalb sind international anerkannte Prüfungen und Zertifikate für die Hersteller von großer Bedeutung. Das ift Rosenheim hat deshalb 2016 ein neues Brandschutzzentrum eröffnet, das für die schnelle und wirtschaftliche Prüfung ausgelegt ist. Unter einem Dach können alle notwendigen Brand-, Rauch- und Dauerfunktionsprüfungen durchgeführt werden. „Aufbauboxen“ und eine professionelle Logistik ermöglichen einen effizienten und wirtschaftlichen Aufbau der Probekörper. Die enge Zusammenarbeit von UL und ift-Experten zusammen mit umfangreichen Prüfkapazitäten am Standort Rosenheim bieten den Herstellern nicht nur eine einfache Abstimmung bei Prüfungen, sondern auch bei Nachweisen und Zertifizierungen für Europa und internationale Märkte.

 

Zur Abrundung der Prüfmöglichkeiten wird das ift-Brandschutzzentrum im TZ nun weiter ausgebaut und durch das angrenzende UL-Labor ergänzt. Folgende fünf Brandöfen werden bis März 2018 zur Verfügung stehen:

 

1+2:  Prüfung des Feuerwiderstands für Wände, Türen, Feuerschutz-systeme, Fassaden etc. in den Abmessungen (B x H: 8 m x 5 m sowie 5 m x 5 m),

3:       Kombiprüfstand für tragende Balken, Böden, Dächer, Brandschutzklappen, Lüftungskanäle sowie Rohrabschottungen mit einer Belastung durch 16 Zylinder von je 5 Tonnen in der Abmessung (B x H x T: 4,0 m x 5,0 m x 2,5 m),

4:       Prüfung tragender und nicht tragender Stützen bis zu einer Belastung von 500 Tonnen in der Abmessung (B x H x T: 3 m x 3,2 m x 3 m),

5:       Prüfung des Brandverhaltens gemäß DIN 4102-2 und EN 1363/1 in der Abmessung (B x H x T: 1,5 m x 1,5 m x 2 m).

 

Die Brandöfen und Steuerungen werden von der ift-Tochter „MessTec“ geplant, errichtet und kalibriert. Durch umfassendes Know-How in Programmierung, Messtechnik, Elektronik und Brandofenbau entstehen moderne Brandöfen, mit denen sich auch unterschiedliche Temperaturkurven fahren lassen, beispielsweise gemäß STC, ISO 834, HC, RWS oder UL 1709. Alle Brenner sind einzeln steuerbar, so dass sich auch individuelle Brandsituationen einstellen lassen.

 

Hinzu kommen zwei Prüfstände für Rauchschutz (5 m x 5 m und 3,5 m x 3,5 m) und Rauchdichtheit (10 m x 7 m) sowie Dauerfunktionsprüfstände mit Größen bis zu 9 m x 5 m. Damit zählt das ift-Brandschutzzentrum im TZ zu den weltweit modernsten Laboranlagen, so dass das Motto „Geprüft in Rosenheim – zertifiziert für die Welt“ noch besser erfüllt werden kann.

 

Ein neues Video zu den Brandprüfungen im ift-Brandschutzzentrum findet man unter www.ift-rosenheim.de/brandschutz-rauchschutz

Rechtlicher Hinweis zur Nutzung: Die Inhalte sind unter Nennung der Quelle "Informationen des ift Rosenheim" frei verfügbar und können für die Kommunikation in Medien und Unternehmen etc. lizenzfrei genutzt werden. Wir bitten um Zusendung eines Belegexemplars als Druckschrift oder als PDF per E-Mail an den redaktionellen Ansprechpartner.