Individual evidence for “sustainable timber procurement“

Date: 12.01.2018 | ID: PI171166 | Download: Individual evidence for “sustainable timber procurement“ PI171166 (PDF) | Author(s): Christoph Freidhofer


Low-cost procedure enables verification without certification

With a new order of October 6, 2017, issued by the federal ministries of Germany, it is now possible to participate in public procurements for sustainable wood products without a complex certification (e. g. by the systems FSC® or PEFC™) but with an so called “individual evidence”. This individual evidence certifies that the used wood comes from sustainable cultivation and can be issued by the ift Rosenheim. Particularly for small craft and service enterprises as well as companies that only rarely carry out contracts for the public sector, the individual evidence is a cost-efficient and effective alternative to a Chain-of-Custody certification.

 

The issue of sustainability is becoming increasingly important these days. In addition to leading retail chains, DIY stores and affluent "eco-builders", this has also been recognised by the public authorities. In the "Federal Regulation on the Procurement of Wood Products", which has been in force since 2010, these authorities have been demanding proof of the fact that wood (with a value of €2,000 or more) used for government orders comes from sustainable and legal forestry.

 

Previously, this proof was only possible via a Chain-of-Custody certificate (CoC) in the form of a product certification by the systems FSC® or PEFC™ or an equivalent certificate. This certification can also be carried out by ift Rosenheim and guarantees a gapless record of the origin of the wood. It is mainly suitable for companies that receive a large number of orders in accordance with these procurement guidelines and/or who want to advertise officially with the trademarks FSC® or PEFC™

 

With the new federal regulation of the participating federal ministries dated 6 October, it is now also possible to participate in public procurements with an individual certificate and without certification. The individual evidence is thus a way of proving the origin of wood products that are directly related to a specific order. It is particularly suitable for smaller companies that rarely carry out public sector contracts.

 

In order to fulfil the obligation to provide evidence to a public client after winning the contract and before installing the wood products, it is possible to request the detailed proof from ift Rosenheim. You will receive the preparatory documents for document verification. Only in few complex cases an on-site inspection by an auditor is necessary. After the relevant data has been checked by an ift expert, a confirmation is issued and the test certificate can be issued within a few days.

Legal note for use: The contents are freely available when mentioning the source ‘Information of ift Rosenheim’ and can be used without a license for communication in media and business. Please send us a specimen copy as publication or as PDF-file via email to the editorial contact.

Einzelnachweise für die „Nachhaltige Holzbeschaffung“

Datum: 12.01.2018 | ID: PI171166 | Download: Einzelnachweise für die „Nachhaltige Holzbeschaffung“ PI171166 (PDF) | Autor(en): Christoph Freidhofer


Kostengünstiges Verfahren ermöglicht Nachweis ohne Zertifizierung

Durch einen neuen Erlass der beteiligten Bundesministerien vom 6. Oktober 2017 ist es nun möglich, neben einer aufwändigen Zertifizierung (z.B. durch die Systeme FSC® oder PEFC™) auch mit einem Einzelnachweis an öffentlichen Ausschreibungen für nachhaltige Holzprodukte teilzunehmen. Der Nachweis bescheinigt die Herkunft des verwendeten Holzes aus nachhaltigem Anbau und kann vom ift Rosenheim ausgestellt werden. Vor allem für kleinere Handwerks- und Dienstleistungsbetriebe sowie Unternehmen, die nur selten Aufträge für die öffentliche Hand ausführen, ist der Einzelnachweis eine kostengünstige und effektive Alternative zur Chain-of-Custody-Zertifizierung.

 

Das Thema Nachhaltigkeit wird in der heutigen Zeit immer wichtiger. Neben führenden Handelsketten, Baumärkten und kaufkräftigen „Ökobauherren“ hat das auch die öffentliche Hand erkannt. Diese fordert schon seit 2010 im „Beschaffungserlass für Holzprodukte“ bei Staatsaufträgen ab einem Warenwert von 2.000 € einen Nachweis, dass das verwendete Holz aus nachhaltiger und legaler Waldwirtschaft stammt.

 

Bisher war dieser Nachweis nur über ein Chain-of-Custody-Zertifikat (CoC) in Form einer Produktzertifizierung durch die Systeme FSC® oder PEFC™ oder eines gleichwertigen Zertifikats möglich. Diese Zertifizierung kann auch vom ift Rosenheim durchgeführt werden und gewährleistet eine lückenlose Aufzeichnung der Holzherkunft. Sie eignet sich hauptsächlich für Firmen, die viele Aufträge im Sinne dieser Beschaffungsvorgaben erhalten und/oder die offiziell mit den Warenzeichen FSC® oder PEFC™ werben möchten.

 

Durch den neuen Erlass der beteiligten Bundesministerien vom 6. Oktober ist es nun auch möglich, mit einem Einzelnachweis und ohne Zertifizierung an öffentlichen Ausschreibungen teilzunehmen. Der Einzelnachweis ist somit ein Mittel des Herkunftsnachweises von Holzprodukten, die in direktem Bezug zu einem bestimmten Auftrag stehen. Besonders eignet sich der Einzelnachweis für kleinere Unternehmen, die nur selten Aufträge für den öffentlichen Sektor ausführen.

 

Zur Erfüllung der Nachweispflicht gegenüber einem öffentlichen Auftraggeber nach Zuschlag und vor Einbau der Holzprodukte kann man den Einzelnachweis beim ift Rosenheim anfordern. Danach erhält man die vorbereitenden Unterlagen zur Dokumentenprüfung. Nur bei komplexeren Einzelfällen ist eine Vor-Ort-Besichtigung durch einen Auditor notwendig. Nach Prüfung der relevanten Daten durch einen ift-Experten erfolgt eine Bestätigung, und die Prüfbescheinigung kann innerhalb von wenigen Tagen ausgestellt werden.

 

Weitere Informationen zu den Einzelnachweisen findet man auf der ift-Website unter www.bit.ly/einzelnachweis-ift

 

Am 14. März 2018 findet ein Webinar zum Thema „Beschaffung von Holz aus nachhaltiger Waldwirtschaft“ vom ift Rosenheim statt. Weitere Informationen zu diesem und weiteren Webinaren finden sich unter www.ift-rosenheim.de/web/akademie/webinare

Rechtlicher Hinweis zur Nutzung: Die Inhalte sind unter Nennung der Quelle "Informationen des ift Rosenheim" frei verfügbar und können für die Kommunikation in Medien und Unternehmen etc. lizenzfrei genutzt werden. Wir bitten um Zusendung eines Belegexemplars als Druckschrift oder als PDF per E-Mail an den redaktionellen Ansprechpartner.